Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home / About

About Us

About the Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture

Image of brook trout    Donate Now

Greetings on behalf of the Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture Partnership Steering Committee.

A diverse group of partners, including state fish and wildlife agencies, federal resource agencies, Indian tribes, academic institutions and non-governmental organizations, are working collaboratively to conserve eastern Brook Trout and their habitats. Established as the Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture (EBTJV), this Fish Habitat Partnership has already produced several range-wide population assessment of wild Brook Trout; completed extensive work that identifies key threats to wild Brook Trout and their habitats; and developed conservation strategies that protect, enhance and restore wild Brook Trout.

To support these collaborative efforts, the EBTJV Steering Committee has adopted a formal Management Structure and all active partners have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The MOU affirms a voluntary commitment to participate in this Fish Habitat Partnership. Continued expansion of the partnership will allow the EBTJV to represent all interested partners in advancing the partnership’s strategic priorities. If your organization would like to become a formal member of the EBTJV, please print the MOU and have it signed by the appropriate representative of your organization. An original copy of the completed signature page should be mailed to the individual identified at the bottom of the document.

Link to EBTJV Management Structure
Link to EBTJV Memorandum of Understanding

Please contact me if you have any questions or comments about the EBTJV.

Thank you.

Lori Maloney, Coordinator
Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture
Canaan Valley Institute; 917-751-2616

More About the Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture

What is the Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture?

The Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture (EBTJV) is a unique partnership between state and federal agencies, regional and local governments, businesses, conservation organizations, academia, scientific societies, and private citizens. One of the nation’s first pilot Fish Habitat Partnerships formed to assist in implementing the National Fish Habitat Action Plan (, the EBTJV is a geographically focused, locally driven, and scientifically based effort that uses a non-regulatory approach to protect, restore and enhance aquatic habitat throughout the range of the eastern Brook Trout.

 What does the EBTJV do?

The EBTJV works collaboratively with partners at multiple geographic and jurisdictional scales to reverse the declining trend for wild Brook Trout.  By focusing its actions towards conserving aquatic habitat and improving water quality, the EBTJV is ensuring we continue to have healthy waters that sustain outdoor recreational activities, generate economic vitality, and provide inherent values for generations to come.

Specifically, partners in EBTJV are working to:
  • Assess the status, trends, and current vs. historical distribution of native Eastern Brook Trout populations from Georgia to Maine
  • Identify data needed to facilitate species conservation and management
  • Identify threats and potential solutions as part of a range-wide conservation strategy
  • Prioritize actions based on measurable improvements with a focus on common, critical, habitat threats
  • Track, quantify and report Brook Trout conservation progress and results
  • Share information and successes with partners and policy-makers
  • Leverage existing funding by developing additional funding sources, including non-traditional revenue sources
  • Develop, implement and manage a public outreach, education and advocacy campaign
Why a "Joint Venture"?

Historically, approaches to the conservation of eastern Brook Trout have been fragmented. A comprehensive range-wide conservation strategy assists all partners in effectively addressing common large-scale threats to Brook Trout and their habitat. The EBTJV also serves as a forum that uses the strengths and expertise of many partners to achieve conservation successes while educating and attracting support from the public at large. Ultimately, the EBTJV will secure populations of wild Brook Trout, aid in the improvement and restoration of watershed integrity, protect water quality, and enhance connections to and stewardship of our natural resources.

What are the next steps?

The EBTJV is implementing its Road Map to Restoration, which addresses the priority conservation needs of eastern Brook Trout, and we continue to work with natural resource management agencies to update data on the status, distribution, and threats for wild Brook Trout at at multiple scales.


Related content
EBTJV Management

Document Actions